33 CFR (Pages 200-END)



Title 33 is the portion of the Code of Federal Regulations also known as 33 CFR governs Navigation and Navigable Waters within the United States. This is Chapter IV (Pages 200-END) 2018 edition.

33 CFR is divided into three chapters.

The laws relating to Title 33 of the code of federal regulations (also known as 33 CFR) including:

  • Shipping Commissioners Act of 1872
  • Dingley Act
  • Maguire Act of 1895 White Act of 1898
  • Seamen’s Act
  • Jones Act Death on the High Seas Act of 1920
  • Merchant Marine Act of 1936


The CFR or Code of Federal Regulations was originally authorized by President Franklin D. Roosevelt on October 11, 1938, as a means to organize and maintain the growing material published by federal agencies in the newly mandated Federal Register. The first volume of the CFR was published in 1939 with general applicability and legal effect in force June 1, 1938.  The Office of the Federal Register (OFR) began publishing yearly revisions for some titles in 1963 with legal effective dates of January 1 each year. By 1967 all 50 titles were updated annually.